Home » Infrastructure » Windows » the stupid TNS Listener! (Windows Server 2003)  () 1 Vote
the stupid TNS Listener! [message #340812] Thu, 14 August 2008 08:08 Go to next message
cornercuttin
alright, i have been working on this for a week now and about ready to throw this computer right out the window.

i just need a simple oracle database to be working so that i can start using some other software that requires Oracle. thats it. i keep getting TNS Listener errors.

i have Oracle 10g and am trying to install on Windows Server 2003. here is what i have done:

1. installed the database software
  2. installed the client (admin package)
  3. created a database using the client software (called orcl)
  4. created a listener using the client software (called LISTENER)

now i am a programmer, not an Oracle admin, so a lot of this is guesswork for me (we are a small company and really don't have an Oracle admin).

i have the software installed at C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\. that means that the client is installed at C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\client_1 and the database software is at C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1.

first question: where do i point my oracle home? at the client_1 or db_1?

secondly, here is my tnsnames.ora file:
ORCL = 
  (DESCRIPTION = 
     (ADDRESS_LIST = 
        (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP) (HOST = my.host.name.here.com) (PORT = 1521))
      )
     (CONNECT_DATA = 
        (SID = orcl)
        (SERVER = DEDICATED)
     )
   )

EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA = 
  (DESCRIPTION = 
     (ADDRESS_LIST = 
        (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC) (KEY = EXTPROC0))
     )
     (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = PLSExtProc) (PRESENTATION = RO))
   )

my listener.ora file is:
SID_LIST_LISTENER = 
   (SID_LIST = 
      (SID_DESC = 
         (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
         (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\client_1)
         (PROGRAM = extproc)
      )
    )

SID_LIST_LISTENER = 
   (SID_LIST = 
     (SID_DESC = 
        (SID_NAME = orcl)