Home » RDBMS Server » Security » expanding audit trail information (Oracle 10gR2 RHEL4 linux)
expanding audit trail information [message #345208] Tue, 02 September 2008 10:52 Go to next message
earniep
Hi all,

my name is earnie, and i'm a oracle dba.
The company for which i work for gave me recently the task to setup a auditing trail for all users who log into the database server.So i did that and set a auditing on all sessions.

The kind of auditing is operating system based, meaning that every thing is being logged to the syslog server locally witch in turn sends all information to a remote syslog server.

Every thing works fine, but the only problem is that the audit trail functionality that oracle uses doesn't log wich program the user (client) uses to connect to the database.
The question that i have is if there is a way i can include this information whatsoever to the auditing trail log?? i noticed that the sys.aud$ doesn't include a 'PROGRAM' column.

An example of the logs I'm getting u can see below

Sep 2 10:05:33 servername user:alert Oracle Audit[598190]: SESSIONID: "2786212"
ENTRYID: "1"
STATEMENT: "1"
USERID: "EARNIEP"
USERHOST: "client"
TERMINAL: "pts/0"
ACTION: "100"
RETURNCODE: "0"
COMMENT$TEXT: "Authenticated by: DATABASE"
OS$USERID: "oracle"
PRIV$USED: 5

but no PROGRAM to be seen...

thank you for your help in advanced

regards,

Earnie
Re: expanding audit trail information [message #345212 is a reply to message #345208] Tue, 02 September 2008 10:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
If you want to add some data that are not in standard audit trail you have to use a (after logon) trigger.

Why do you want to record program name?

Regards
Michel
Re: expanding audit trail information [message #345215 is a reply to message #345208] Tue, 02 September 2008 11:06 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
earniep wrote on Tue, 02 September 2008 08:52

but no PROGRAM to be seen...