Home » Infrastructure » Unix » Migrating to OS X (Navicat Lite, 9.1.4, OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.6)
Migrating to OS X [message #495484] Sat, 19 February 2011 22:16 Go to next message
therevisnotdead
I apologize if this question is out of context/in the wrong forum, etc...

I am a student using Navicat Lite in Windows to manage databases. However, I use a Mac for pretty much every other task. So, I installed Navicat Lite for Mac but am having trouble getting it up and running. I imported my connections from Windows, but when I try to connect I get a "Connection Failed" error message.

I think this has something to do with the TNS listener... but I really don't know what I'm doing as I'm very new to this.

Should I have something in the TNS_ADMIN field under preferences?

Any help/explanation would be greatly appreciated!
Re: Migrating to OS X [message #495486 is a reply to message #495484] Sat, 19 February 2011 22:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>I am a student using Navicat Lite in Windows to
What is Navicat?

Post complete results of
SELECT * from v$version;

Re: Migrating to OS X [message #495488 is a reply to message #495484] Sat, 19 February 2011 22:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
Yes, if you want to use one.
Hope you do have a valid client install.
For simplicity, I just use Oracle instant client and use same values for
ORACLE_HOME,DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH and TNS_ADMIN.
There should be a tnsnames.ora file in the TNS_ADMIN path that has valid entries to databases.
Else
just use the "basic" connection and fill all entries manually.
/forum/fa/8721/0/

PS:
I use highly customized environment with symlinks to all other tools from my custom ORACLE_HOME.
You can just use the "bundled instant client" and point it to TNS_ADMIN which has tnsnames.ora

[Updated on: Sat, 19 February 2011 23:13]

Report message to a moderator