Home » Open Source » Programming Interfaces » Perl Script To Call A Simple Oracle Stored Procedure
Perl Script To Call A Simple Oracle Stored Procedure [message #203624] Wed, 15 November 2006 20:06 Go to next message
wtolentino
sorry if i post this in the wrong forum. i am a newbie to perl scripting and would like to know how can i call an oracle stored procedure using perl scripting. can anyone provide some example codes. thanks.

[Updated on: Wed, 15 November 2006 20:07]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Perl Script To Call A Simple Oracle Stored Procedure [message #203674 is a reply to message #203624] Thu, 16 November 2006 00:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rleishman
You use Perl::DBI

If you haven't already, download Perl::DBI and DBD::Oracle from http://www.cpan.org

Read the documentation provided. It will show you how to connect to the database and execute a variety of statements.
$dbh =  DBI->connect('dbi:Oracle:', 'usr/pwd@db');

To execute a stored proc, you use the prepare a string to create a statement handle, and then execute the statement handle.
my $sth = $dbh->prepare('BEGIN my_proc(args); END;) || die $dbh->errstr;
$sth->execute || die $dbh->errstr;

This is pretty basic. You can also use bind variables.

Since the DBI doco is pretty generic (non-Oracle) also read the DBD::Oracle doco, which will show you more Oracle-specific examples.

Ross Leishman
icon8.gif  Re: Perl Script To Call A Simple Oracle Stored Procedure [message #279032 is a reply to message #203624] Tue, 06 November 2007 12:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
bpropes
Hi,

Did you ever find out how to do this? I am having similar issues trying to call a stored proc from a Perl script.
The DBI::Oracle thing wasn't too good of help unfortunately.

I've got the following stored proc, called DEFPROJ_FORM_INSERTION.

I was trying the following:

my $sth2 = $dbh->prepare(q{BEGIN DEFPROJ_FORM_INSERTION; END;});

I then try to execute on the variables like so: