Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Raw Device Vs ASM?
Raw Device Vs ASM? [message #290692] Mon, 31 December 2007 02:12 Go to next message
trantuananh24hg
Hi all!
Wish the best to you in the new year! Happy New Year!

Our RAC still uses Raw Device from 9i, recently, we received an email from the Oracle support which introduced to us about ASM new feature in 10g. As a DBA, I have to learn and take a bit of preparing within them. Read some documents, get some advice from my friends, however, I really understand about this new feature. I think, Raw device is good till now.

Would you like to send me some comments?

We have:
Oracle 9i RAC
HP-UX(PARISC 64bit)
and AIX (64bit)

Thank you!

Re: Raw Device Vs ASM? [message #290696 is a reply to message #290692] Mon, 31 December 2007 02:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Have a look at this article: http://www.orafaq.com/node/66

Regards
Michel
Re: Raw Device Vs ASM? [message #290707 is a reply to message #290696] Mon, 31 December 2007 03:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mkbhati

Following link can be of some use. Refer page 45 for having nice practice on ASM by emulating files as devices if it is not possible to have real life disk devices available. The Nice thing is that this document covers both LINUX & Windows. ASM is a nice feature but has a learning curve so practice it well using fake devices before using it on production.

http://www.dba-oracle.com/oracle_10g_new_features.pdf

Regards

Manjit Kumar
Re: Raw Device Vs ASM? [message #290713 is a reply to message #290707] Mon, 31 December 2007 04:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
trantuananh24hg
Thank you, Michel and mkbhati!

I am wondering about the ASM which has one feature: DISKGROUP. What is the performance when adding a disk to DISKGROUP or removing a disk from DISKGROUP.